March 2, 2024
The 2023 M-Pre Party on May 5th to feature Station, Streetlight Circus, The Rumours and Rat Rod

The 2023 M-Pre Party on May 5th to feature Station, Streetlight Circus, The Rumours and Rat Rod

Dave Dillman of D-Toxin Productions is back with the 13th edition of the M-Pre Party, which always takes place one day prior to the M3 Rock Festival. The 2023 M-Pre Party will be taking place at the Reckless Shepherd Brewing Co. in Columbia, Maryland, USA on Friday, May 5, 2023. The four announced bands that will be performing consist of Station, Streetlight Circus, The Rumours and Rat Rod.


New York rockers Station need no introduction to the M-Pre Party faithful given that they have likely played the most editions out of any band. Station consist of lead vocalist Patrick Kearney, guitarist Chris Lane, bassist Emi Asta and drummer Tony Baptist. They have released the following albums: Wired EP (2013), Station (2015), More Than The Moon (2018), Stained Glass (2019) and Perspective (2021).

Sleaze Roxx stated the following in its concert review of the 2022 M-Pre Party: “Aficionados of high energy, straight-up arena rock delivered with plenty of attitude and passion were in just the right place if they were facing the stage for Station’s set at M-Pre. The band barreled through over fifteen songs and their set was so good it seemed like it was over in a blink. It was one of those performances that you get so caught up in the excitement that the show just flies by in no time. Station’s music is filled with hard pounding percussion, catchy choruses and the very unique guitar tones of Chris Lane. Kearney‘s vocals are well-suited to their material but belted out with enough piss n’ vinegar to give certain songs an edge, particularly on “Dressed To Kill”. With a sound encompassing all of the qualities I’ve mentioned, they were a shoo-in to please an audience that was likely in town to attend the M3 Rock Festival and they certainly achieved that goal.”

Station‘s “I Cant Find My Way” video (from Perspective album):

Streetlight Circus

New York rockers Streetlight Circus consisting of David Shaw on lead vocals and bass, George Giannoulis on lead guitar, Alex Rude on guitar and Erik Fehrenbach on drums are also returnees to the M-Pre Party. The group has released the albums Streetlight Circus (2012), Needle Down (2016) and Super Fine Sugar (2022).

Sleaze Roxx caught Streetlight Circus in concert back on June 3, 2022 at the Tally Ho Theater in Leesburg, Virginia, USA and stated in its concert review:

“The encore of “Ghettoblaster” came as no surprise since it’s one of the band’s catchiest and most popular tracks. With good reason, it’s got that enticing chant and groove that will firmly embed the tune into your brain for hours after the concert is over. Much like a tractor beam, the song scours the audience for new listeners and reels them into the fold without fail. I consider Streetlight Circus to be an opener well paired to a band like FireHouse. Their music is unpretentious, hard rocking, and radio friendly with plenty of emphasis on verbose guitar licks, snappy choruses and bombastic percussion by drummer Erik Fehrenbach.”

Streetlight Circus‘ “Take Me To The River” video (from Super Fine Sugar album):

The Rumours

Iowa, USA based rockers The Rumours consist of lead vocalist and guitarist Carli Foxx, bassist Ela Rose and drummer Daniel Kluiter. They have released the albums Bad Habits (2016), Hot Bang (2017) and Suck It (2020).

Sleaze Roxx stated the following in its review of Suck It: “The Rumours‘ album Suck It is pretty much what I expected from them. Straight ahead punk laced rock n’ roll highlighted by Foxx‘s raspy vocals. For whatever reason, it reminds me a bit of a cross between The Runaways and Joan Jett & The Blackhearts but with less melodies. It seems that it is pedal to the metal almost all the time with The Rumours on Suck It as the group pretty much launches from one rocker to the next without going up for any air along the way. The reality is that if you like one of the songs on the record, odds are that you’ll like all of them as they all feel pretty similar.”

The Rumours‘ “Want Ya” video (from Suck It album):

Rat Rod

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA rockers Rat Rod consist of Mike Smith on lead vocals, Mark McCarty and Brice McCarty on guitars, LJ on bass and Harry Rosa on drums. They have released the albums Do You Remember Rock And Roll (2017), Light ‘Em Up (2019), Rat Rod Live (2021) and Four On The Floor (2022).

Rat Rod‘s “Bio” on their website indicates in part: “You will find in Rat Rod a band of individuals who pay homage to the music by staying true to the formula yet adding their own twist and sensibilities.  If you are looking for soft, heartfelt ballads, look elsewhere because with titles like the opener of their debut, the fast boogie “Rat Like Me”, the crowd favorite “Ride It (Like Ya Stole It)’, and the upstart “Memphis Belle” you won’t find them here! The boys in Rat Rod have big plans and a strong work ethic so If you have an itch for rock and roll the way it’s meant to be, Rat Rod is the cure.”

Rat Rod‘s “Lightning Strikes” video (from Light ‘Em Up album):

Source link

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *