February 21, 2024
SUBWAY TO SALLY Release Track By Track Video For "Was Ihr Wollt"

German folk rock band, Subway To Sally, will release their 14th studio album, Himmelfahrt (eng. Ascension), on March 24 via Napalm Records. The band have released this track by track video focusing on the album opener, “Was ihr wollt”:

The brand new album marks a turning point in the discography of the band: since the beginning of their promising career, the musicians gave the darkest abysses of human soul a spotlight – but now, they surprise fans with the total opposite. For the first time in over 30 years of their band history, the musicians celebrate hope.

Subway To Sally states on their new album: “The new album marks a turning point. Himmelfahrt represents the ending and a new beginning at the same time. The work on the songs for Himmelfahrt began long before Covid, shortly after the release of the last album Hey.. This album addressed a broken world, the destructive treatment of people with their own kind and the environment in which they live. As the pandemic hit the world, most of the album seemed prophetic and depressing. All the material created up to that point had to be put to the test and was disposed of as outmoded.

Subway To Sally have always dealt with the dark sides of the human soul with relish. Over the years, a lot of blood has been spilled and murdered for love. But the lust for doom is an attitude that works well when a fully fueled helicopter is waiting on the roof to carry us away from the zombie apocalypse.

For the first time in thirty years of the band’s history, we had to ask ourselves if it was time to celebrate hope. Hope is fuel for the future, and so many songs on the new album are about departure and journey, about reaching out to others to lead them from the deepest depths into the light. However, the most current events in the world put this hope to a difficult test. This explains the downer, the bitterness that clouds hope. That’s why even God had to say a word on the album, to vent his own disappointment in his work.”

Himmelfahrt will be available in the following formats:

– Deluxe Wooden Box – incl. Pendant, 2 CD Mediabook (24 pages), Bonus Album, Flag, 4 x Postcards (2 motives) Art Print – limited to 500 copies worldwide (Napalm Records exclusive)

– 2-CD Mediabook (24 pages) incl. Bonus Album & Belt Bag in a bundle – limited to 300 copies worldwide  (Napalm Records exclusive)

– Vinyl Deluxebox: 1-LP Vinyl Gatefold transparent marbled / black – incl. 12 pages Booklet, Slipmat, Record Butler – limited to 300 copies worldwide (Napalm Records exclusive)

– 2-CD Mediabook (24 pages) incl. Bonus Album

– 1-LP Gatefold

– 1-CD Jewel Case

– Digital Album

Pre-order here.

Himmelfahrt tracklisting:

“Was ihr wollt”

“Leinen los”

“Weit ist das Meer”

“So tief”

“Gaudens in domino”

“Gott spricht”

“Auf dem Hügel”




“Ihr kriegt uns nie”

“Lasst die Himmel fall’n”

Bonus Album:

“Gott spricht” (audinity remix)

“Auf dem Hügel” (acoustic version)

“So tief” (acoustic version)

“Was ihr wollt” (acoustic version)

“Weit ist das Meer” (acoustic version)

“So Rot MMXXI”

“Was ihr wollt” video:


Eric Fish – Vocals, Flutes, Bagpipe

Ally Storch – Violin

Bodenski – Hurdy Gurdy, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals

Simon – Acoustic Guitars, Trumsheit, Vocals

Ingo Hampf – Guitar, Lute

Simon Michael – Drums, Percussion

Sugar Ray – Bass

(Photo – Heilemania / Pedro Stoehr)

Source link

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *